The death of videogames

The news are all over. Videogames are no more, they belong to the past. Now, the Earth and all its inhabitants wonder – what do I do with all my newfound free-time?

Now, just disregard what is written above and relax. Breathe. No need to call emergency services.

Video games are still a thing. However, in the electronic literature work of “Quing’s Quest VII – the death of videogames” well, videogames do die. Possibly not in the sense you imagine – as in this work videogames is a planet which has been invaded.

To discover and explore “Quing’s Quest VII” for yourself, the work can be found here:
http://collection.eliterature.org/3/works/quings-quest-vii/index.html

The character the reader takes control of, was born on the planet of videogames – but had to escape after the invasion. Now our character is miserable and wants to go back. However, this is not as easy as one might think. Misogynerds have taken over the planet. Can it be rescued? Probably not. Our main character and their friend (or should I say partner?) decides to try anyway.

I never thought peeling an orange would be a reason to get arrested, but here we go. Bad fashion sense? Well, some people want a fashion police… Playing minigolf in an office building? I would guess many people do that. Shouting at trees? Ok, this is strange. Now let us try to avoid being arrested, despite all our crimes (I mean, we did steal a spacecraft, so I guess we do deserve prison-time after all…)

After inserting countless discs (the last one had a number way past 20 – and I actually caught myself wondering if a video game ever was released with so many discs? Yeah I doubt it) and trying countless ways of escaping, an epic dance session ends up saving our characters from the Misogynerds police, but lose their home planet for ever. A happy ending? Bittersweet, I would say. But at least the good guys won… Unless you prefer the bad guys. Then I guess the ending of the story is rather a bad one – but for me it was bittersweet.

Did I like “Quing’s Quest VII – the death of videogames”? Yes, I did. Nostalgia, choosing my path and videogames are all things I enjoy. At times, the layout felt a bit over the top – but nothing that the fun story could not overshadow.

I especially liked the references to older videogames like Monkey Island, and the mention of the Konami code. I remember as a child, playing my good old tv games and having to type this kind of code either as a cheat or just to gain access to the level where I last left off. Haha, I think a few years ago, this also worked on Facebook to produce some colorful circles or whatever? I cannot remember exactly, but I think some kind of Konami was involved in the circles appearing.

The game also refers to other 80s and 90s stuff, for example in the dancing part where it mentions Macarena “Hey Macarena!”… And now that that song is stuck in our heads for a couple of days, let us finish the adventure. Shortly summarized: our home planet dies, and we reach the end of the story.

I cannot say anything confused me about this work, but I kind of wish we would have gotten a tiny bit more background information. Also I wonder if Quing is the name of our main character, and/or if the character is a king? I did not get the feeling that the character fits the personality of a king, but if their home planet is named videogames then who knows? Aside from that, I enjoyed this work very much. Even though we were lead in a certain direction, I still got the feeling of choosing my own path – which is good in my opinion.

“Quing’s Quest VII” deals with themes like loss, sadness and hope with a fun and entertaining twist – and adding a dash of nostalgia to it all while having a sci-fi theme. All in all, I would really recommend people to check it out.

Is it a game? A work of fiction? A digital sci-fi book? A story? A good mix of them all. It may not feel much like a game, but in a sense it is.

This piece of electronic literature reminded me of a game I played when I was younger. A browser game, consisting purely of text and commands – I believe the name was “You Find Yourself In A Room” and I had lots of fun with it despite the game telling me what an idiot I was for being human and not a machine. A google-search tells me this game is still online and playable. Great.

I think that, even though the story is wrapped in a sci-fi packaging, there is talent needed to create a story where loss and despair are the main topics – yet make it entertaining and even funny to discover. I think, with all the sad events taking place in our world, that the demand for this genre will continue growing. The way of turning sad themes into a fun adventure is beautiful!

And with that, I consider my poetic sign-off complete. I am kinda surprised I did one for this blogpost as well, I was not quite expecting to be able to do that considering the fun atmosphere of “Quing’s Quest VII”.

Be prepared for another blogpost soon!
Oh, and thanks for reading.

 

Leave a Reply

